Be an Ally

Today is the 13th anniversary of the death of Matthew Shepard.

Matthew Shepard, December 1, 1976 – October 12, 1998

As a parent I want to make this world safer for my own child and everybody else’s gay child.

I won’t be able hide behind trees and crouch behind bushes while she goes to out into the world in order to make sure no harm comes to her.

What I can do is try to engage others in conversation about queer kids. Until she is older I can try to protect her from the ignorance or prejudice of people who know she is out.

I can be an ally and an advocate.

Yesterday I went to Safe Zone/Ally Training. I suggest that anyone who wants to make the world a safer place for members of the LGBT community consider spending an afternoon at a local training. I will proudly display my Safe Zone sticker beside my office door, so that anyone who needs a safe space will have one.

Moreover, displaying the Safe Zone sticker let’s others know they aren’t alone.

One can find plenty of information about being an ally information here.

Many universities regularly offer Safe Zone/Ally Training. Check with your local university’s LGBT Center or Women’s Center to see if or when they will offer a training session.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers